Finding a piece of puzzle : story of an insane question

Lately I was thinking about my collage days. About various things that I have been doing at that time. It was during those days this curious question jumped out of nowhere. “What is life is all about and what is the point of living this life ?” (yeah, I know it is a kind of insane,  my best friend felt the same). When I asked him this question, first I got was a scary look and then his reply : “you won’t understand that now, but you just think about it.”  And that ended there.

All those days I was leading a boring life without any goals or responsibilities. It was one of my friends who told me about MAD ,  a non profit organization “To bridge the inequality in society through education.”, where youngsters taught India‘s urban underprivileged children, particularly children in street shelters, orphanages, and poor homes. I heard about the recruitment to MAD from him and I joined in MAD. It was really fun. My first assignment was in a poor home near my college. It was amazing to see how talented those kids were. Despite of all the odd things they had to face they were so confident and they had  big big dreams and hopes. I was so happy for the decision I made. Though I couldn’t continue for a long time with MAD, since I had to shift from where I lived.  I had the happiness that I never experienced before.

And I was slowly recognizing that how one can influence others, how one can give happiness to others.  The Love, peace of mind and simplicity that I felt within that short period of time was amazing. I was solving a part of my puzzling question. I understood that Love, caring and the mentality to share your life with others is the key to happiness instead of living a self centered life.

The purpose of life is not to be happy. It is to be useful, to be honorable, to be compassionate, to have it make some difference that you have lived and lived well.” Ralph Waldo Emerson
Leave a Reply

