My reading list : “Notes to Myself: My Struggle to Become a Person”

Name : Notes to Myself: My struggle to become a person.   Notes to Myself: My Struggle to Become a Person
Author : Hugh Prather
Category : Non-fiction
ISBN : 0-553-27382-5
Published by : Bantam Books

I got this book from a second-hand bookshop, where it was hidden under a pile of books covered  with dust. When I skimmed through it I had this strong urge to buy it, simply because the language was so strong and I was able to connect with it in that short period of time.

Hugh Prather authored this book as a series of notes, through which he described his experiences and visions. With his informal poetic style of writing, reading is quite interesting. The author presents vague word-pictures of scenes, events, experiences and visions relating his emotions and actions and the reader can feel that it is written as a kind of self talk.

The editor who discovered the book once said, “When I first read Prather’s manuscript it was late at night and I was tired, but by the time I finished it, I felt rested and alive.  Since then I’ve reread it many times and it says even more to me now.” but in my case I took more than one month to complete this book. Most of the times I felt like his experiences becoming mine.

Some of the words that I liked are given below :

“Forgiveness is the willingness to begin. Guilt is the love of staying stuck. Unless I accept my faults, I will unquestionably doubt my virtues.”

“I am not interested so much in what I do with my hands or words as what I do with my heart. I want to live from the inside, not from the outside in.”

“My prayer is: I will be what I will be, I will do what I will do.”

“Forgiveness lifts my curse on myself so that I no longer see it projected on another.”

My Rating : 7/10

2 thoughts on “My reading list : “Notes to Myself: My Struggle to Become a Person”

  1. The idea therefore is to live with the urge of making the most of every decision you make and treasure every relationship along the way so that you live with little to no regrets. Learning from mistakes, accepting faults, taking the fall for someone else and embrace each day with a new outlook to life.

    What are your thoughts on the matter?

  2. Yeah, being true to oneself and acting accordingly will definitely help one to live without regrets. If everyone were compassionate and acting with love and forgiveness right here would have been the Heaven.

Leave a Reply

